Overview

Der Gesamtendenergieverbrauch in Deutschland lag 2018 leicht unter dem Niveau des Jahres 2000 (-9,2 Mtoe, d. h. -4 %). Der größte Verbrauchssektor ist im Jahr 2018 die Industrie mit einem Anteil von 29,4 % am gesamten Endenergieverbrauch. Der Anteil der Haushalte ist leicht von 30,0 % auf 28,7 % im Jahr 2018 gesunken, während der Anteil der Industrie von 26,4 % auf 29,4 % gestiegen ist. Der Anteil des Verkehrs am Gesamtverbrauch ging leicht von 27,2 % auf 26,9 % zurück (siehe Abbildung 1).

Figure 1: Final energy consumption by sector (normal climate)

Source: ODYSSEE

Die Energieeffizienz für den Endverbrauch insgesamt, gemessen am sogenannten technischen ODEX, hat sich seit 2000 um etwa 1,4 % pro Jahr verbessert. Größere Zuwächse wurden für Haushalte (2,2 %/Jahr) verzeichnet, gegenüber 1,0 %/Jahr für den Verkehrssektor und 1,6 %/Jahr für den Dienstleistungssektor. Eine geringere jährliche Verbesserungsrate wurde im Industriesektor erzielt (0,77 %/Jahr).

Figure 2: Technical Energy Efficiency Index

Source: ODYSSEE

Mit dem Energiekonzept von 2010 hat sich Deutschland ambitionierte Energie- und Klimaziele für 2020 und 2050 gesetzt. Um die Ziele für 2020 zu erreichen, wurde 2014 das "Aktionsprogramm Klimaschutz 2020" verabschiedet. Die langfristige Strategie zur Erreichung eines klimaneutralen Deutschlands im Jahr 2050 wurde 2016 mit dem " Klimaschutzplan 2050" festgelegt. Erstmals enthält der Plan auch sektorale Ziele zur Treibhausgasminderung für 2030. Mit dem "Klimaschutzprogramm 2030" von Oktober 2019 wurden die Maßnahmen zur Erreichung dieser 2030-Ziele durch ein breites Maßnahmenpaket aus Innovationen, Finanzierung, Regulierung und einem neuen Preissystem für Treibhausgase ab 2021 konkretisiert. Mit dem "Bundes-Klimaschutzgesetz", das am 18.12.2019 in Kraft trat, wurden die sektoralen Ziele für 2030 rechtsverbindlich gemacht. Darüber hinaus wurde im Dezember 2019 die "Energieeffizienzstrategie (EffSTRA) 2050" verabschiedet. Sie definiert ein neues Energieeffizienzziel für 2030 (Minderung des Primärenergieverbrauchs um 30% gegenüber 2008) und trägt damit zum verschärften EU-Ziel für 2030 bei. Die EffSTRA bündelt die beschlossenen Maßnahmen in einem neuen "Nationalen Aktionsplan für Energieeffizienz" (NAPE 2.0) und beinhaltet einen Dialogprozesses "Roadmap Energieeffizienz 2050", der im Mai 2020 startete. Am 10. Juni 2020 wurde die “Nationale Wasserstoffstrategie” verabschiedet. 

Table 1: Sample of cross-cutting measures

MeasuresNEEAP measuresDescriptionExpected savings, impact evaluationMore information available
CO2-Bepreisung für die Sektoren Wärme und VerkehryesNeue CO2-Bepreisung für fossile Brennstoffe und Kraftstoffe in den Sektoren Transport und Wärme (ohne die Teile der Industrie, die bereits dem EU-ETS unterliegen), beginnend in 2021. Bis 2025 jährlich ansteigender CO2-Preis, ab 2026 Emissionshandels-system mit Cap.2030: 145,5 PJ (ohne Interaktionseffekte) / 138,2 PJ (mit Berücksichtigung von InteraktionseffektenLink
Aktionsprogramm Klimaschutz 2020 yesDieses Programm enthält verschiedene Komponenten, die die Erreichung der Klimaziele Deutschlands für das Jahr 2020 zu erreichen.2020: 62 – 78 Mt CO2Äq.Link
Source: MURE

Buildings

Wie in Abbildung 3 dargestellt, ist der Energieverbrauch der Haushalte pro m² für die Raumheizung seit 2000 um 34 % gesunken, von 17,4 koe/m² auf 11,5 koe/m² im Jahr 2018. Während der Verbrauch pro Wohnung für die Warmwasserbereitstellung von 2000 bis 2018 um 41 % gestiegen ist (von 0,19 toe/dw auf 0,27 toe/dw), blieb der Verbrauch für Geräte und Kochen nahezu konstant (siehe Abbildung 4).

Figure 3: Energy consumption of space heating per m2 (normal climate)

Source: ODYSSEE

Figure 4: Energy consumption per dwelling by end-use (except space heating)

Source: ODYSSEE

Abbildung 5 zeigt eine Dekomposition der Veränderung des Energieverbrauchs im Sektor Haushalte. Sie zeigt, dass der Gesamtendenergieverbrauch der Haushalte zwischen 2000 und 2018 um etwa 6 Mtoe gegenüber dem Jahr 2000 gesunken ist. Zwei Hauptfaktoren trugen zu einem Anstieg des Energieverbrauchs bei - mehr Wohnungen (6 Mio. tRÖE) und Lebensstil/Komfort (8 Mio. tRÖE, aufgrund größerer Wohnungen und mehr Geräten pro Wohnung). Auf der anderen Seite verringerte sich der Verbrauch durch Energieeinsparungen um etwa 25 Mio. tRÖE, während Klimaeffekte nur einen geringen Rückgang von 1 Mio. tRÖE bewirkten.

Figure 5: Main drivers of the energy consumption variation of households

Source: ODYSSEE

Abbildung 6 zeigt die Entwicklung des spezifischen Energieverbrauchs in den Haushalten sowohl für den Strom- als auch für den gesamten Endverbrauch. Während der Stromverbrauch pro Quadratmeter im Laufe der Zeit stetig gestiegen ist (von 2001 bis 2018 um ca. 10 %), ist der Gesamtverbrauch im gleichen Zeitraum deutlich gesunken (ca. 20 % im Vergleich zu 2001).

Figure 6: Energy and electricity consumption per m² (normal climate)

Source: ODYSSEE

Um das Ziel eines nahezu klimaneutralen Gebäudebestandes in Deutschland bis 2050 zu erreichen, wurde eine Reihe von Programmen aufgelegt, von denen einige bereits seit vielen Jahren laufen. Wie im Klimaschutzprogramm 2030 beschlossen, werden nun die Förderbedingungen für diese Programme verbessert und ab 2020 in einer neuen "Bundesförderung für effiziente Gebäude (BEG)" zusammengefasst. Die BEG besteht aus mehreren Modulen, die aus den bisherigen Förderprogrammen entstanden sind: (1) BEG Wohngebäude (ehemaliges KfW-Programm “Energieeffizient Bauen und Sanieren”) (2) BEG Nichtwohngebäude (ehemaliges KfW-Programm “Energieeffizienz Bauen und Sanieren Nichtwohngebäude”) (3) BEG Einzelmaßnahmen BAFA/ KfW Marktanreizprogramm (MAP) zur Nutzung erneuerbarer Energien im Wärmemarkt inkl. Anreizprogramm Energieeffizienz (APEE). Als Alternative zur Bundesförderung wurden ab 2020 auch steuerliche Anreize für die energetische Sanierung von Wohngebäuden eingeführt. Das Corona-Konjunkturprogramm vom 3. Juni 2020 enthielt auch eine weitere Aufstockung des CO2-Gebäudesanierungsprogramm. Schließlich trat am 1. November 2020 das neue Gebäudeenergiegesetz (GEG) in Kraft, mit dem das bisherige Energieeinsparrecht für Gebäude zusammengeführt wurde. Das GEG regelt die energetischen Anforderungen an Neubauten, an Bestandsgebäude und an den Einsatz erneuerbarer Energien zur Wärme- und Kälteversorgung von Gebäuden.

Table 2: Sample of policies and measures implemented in the building sector

MeasuresDescriptionExpected savings, impact evaluationMore information available
Bundesförderung für effiziente Gebäude (BEG)Neugestaltung der Förderung für bestehende Wohn- und Nichtwohngebäude. Integration mehrerer bisheriger Programme mit gleichzeitiger Verbesserung der Föderbedingungen.2030: 79,3 PJ (Nettowirkung ohne Interaktionseffekte) / 55,5 PJ (Nettowirkung mit Berücksichtigung von Interaktionseffekten)Link
Steuerliche Förderung der energetischen GebäudesanierungSteuerliche Förderung von Einzelmaßnahmen in eigengenutzten Wohnungen und Wohngebäuden alternativ zur Bundesförderung für effiziente Gebäude (BEG)2030: 24,3 PJ (Nettowirkung ohne Interaktionseffekte) / 23,1 PJ (Nettowirkung mit Berücksichtigung von Interaktionseffekten)Link
Source: MURE

Transport

Der Endenergieverbrauch im Verkehr wird von PKW dominiert, die 66 % des Gesamtverbrauchs im Jahr 2018 abdecken. Der Anteil des Straßengüterverkehrs blieb nahezu konstant (26 %), während der Schienenverkehr von 3,6 % auf 2,3 % sank. Im gleichen Zeitraum blieb der Anteil des inländischen Flugverkehrs, der Busse und des Wasserverkehrs nahezu konstant.

Figure 7: Transport energy consumption by mode

Source: ODYSSEE

Pkw machten 2018 84,1 % des Personenverkehrsaufkommens gemessen in Personenkilometern aus, gefolgt von der Bahn mit 10,3 % und nur 5,5 % beim Bus. Der Anteil der Pkw blieb im Vergleich zum Jahr 2000 relativ konstant, während der Anteil der Bahn leicht um 1,4 %-Punkte stieg und der Busverkehr um 1,3 %-Punkte sank.

Figure 8: Modal split of inland passenger traffic

Source: ODYSSEE

Der Straßengüterverkehr machte 2018 73,5 % des gesamten Güterverkehrs aus, 3,6 %-Punkte mehr als im Jahr 2000. Der Anteil des Schienenverkehrs am Güterverkehr stieg stark um 2,9 %-Punkte, während der Anteil des Schiffsverkehrs um 6.5 %-Punkte auf 7 % der gesamten Güterverkehrsaktivität sank.

Figure 9: Modal split of inland freight traffic

Source: ODYSSEE

Abbildung 10 zeigt die verschiedenen Einflussfaktoren auf die Veränderung des Endenergieverbrauchs des Verkehrs. Der gesamte Endenergieverbrauch für den Verkehr in Deutschland ist im Zeitraum von 2000 bis 2018 um etwa 3,4 Mtoe gesunken. Der zunehmende Personen- und Güterverkehr trug zu einem Anstieg des Verbrauchs mit 9 Mtoe bei. Dieser Trend wurde durch Energieeinsparungen (10,6 Mio. tRÖE) kompensiert. Die Verkehrsverlagerung hatte einen leicht steigenden Effekt von 0,6 Mio. tRÖE, während andere Effekte zu einem Rückgang von etwa 2 Mio. tRÖE führten.

Figure 10: Main drivers of the energy consumption variation in transport

Source: ODYSSEE

Das Klimaschutzprogramm 2030 enthält Maßnahmenbündel, die verschiedene Handlungsfelder im Verkehrssektor adressieren: (1) Öffentlicher Verkehr, Rad- und Fußgängerverkehr (2) Alternative Kraftstoffe (3) Güterverkehr (4) PKW (5) Nutzfahrzeuge (6) Digitalisierung. Im Hinblick auf die Energieeffizienz sind vor allem folgende Massnahmen wichtig: (a) Erhöhung der Umweltprämie für die Anschaffung von Elektrofahrzeugen (b) Förderrichtlinie zur Anschaffung von Elektrobussen im öffentlichen Personennahverkehr (c) Förderung energieeffizienter und/oder emissionsarmer Schwerfahrzeuge im Strassengüterverkehr (d) LKW-Maut (e) Senkung der Mehrwertsteuer im Schienenfernverkehr von 19% auf 7% (f) Erhöhung der Luftverkehrssteuer (g) Treibstoffe auf Strombasis.

Table 3: Sample of policies and measures implemented in the transport sector

MeasuresDescriptionExpected savings, impact evaluationMore information available
Umweltbonus zur Förderung von ElektromobilitätPrämie für die Neuanschaffung von Elektrofahrzeugen, aufladbaren Hybridelektrokraftfahrzeugen und Wasserstoff-/Brennstoffzellenfahrzeugen.2030: 8,8 PJ (Nettowirkung ohne Berücksichtigung von Interaktionseffekten) / 8,4 PJ (Nettowirkung mit Berücksichtigung von Interaktionen)Link
Source: MURE

Industry

Der Gesamtverbrauch des Industriesektors stieg von 59,3 Mtoe im Jahr 2000 auf 62,1 Mtoe im Jahr 2018 (+5 %). Der Verbrauch der chemischen Industrie stieg in diesem Zeitraum um 37 %, während der Energieverbrauch des stahlerzeugenden Sektors um 10 % sank. Der Energieverbrauch der Nichteisenmetalle sank um 5 %.

Figure 11: Final energy consumption of industry by branch

Source: ODYSSEE

Abbildung 12 zeigt die Entwicklung der spezifischen Verbräuche für ausgewählte energieintensive Produkte. Der spezifische Verbrauch der Stahl-, Papier- und Zementproduktion blieb 2018 auf dem Niveau des Jahres 2000, allerdings mit einigen Schwankungen, mit einem Anstieg aufgrund von Kapazitätseffekten bei geringer Auslastung der Produktionskapazitäten (insbesondere in einer Wirtschaftskrise wie bei Zement im Jahr 2006).

Figure 12: Unit consumption of energy‐intensive products (toe/t)

Source: ODYSSEE

Abbildung 13 zeigt die Einflussfaktoren auf die Veränderungen im Endenergieverbrauch des Industriesektors. Der Anstieg seines Energieverbrauchs um etwa 3 Mtoe zwischen 2000 und 2018 wurde hauptsächlich durch die Veränderung der industriellen Aktivität (15,6 Mtoe) verursacht. Dieser Effekt wurde durch Energieeinsparungen (-8,6 Mio. tRÖE) und strukturelle Veränderungen hin zu weniger intensiven Branchen, die ihren Anteil an der industriellen Wertschöpfung erhöhten (-6,6 Mio. tRÖE), kompensiert. Andere Effekte wirkten sich real nur geringfügig erhöhend auf den Endenergieverbrauch in der Industrie aus.

Figure 13: Main drivers of the energy consumption variation in industry

Source: ODYSSEE

Das Förderprogramm "Energieberatung in KMU" unterstützt eine qualifizierte Energieberatung, die Einsparpotenziale und Maßnahmen zur Verbesserung der Energieeffizienz kleiner und mittlerer Unternehmen aufzeigen soll. Außerdem hat die Bundesregierung 2014 eine Vereinbarung mit Branchenverbänden und Organisationen zur bundesweiten Einführung von Energieeffizienz-Netzwerken unterzeichnet. Sie will bis 2020 rund 500 neue Netzwerke initiieren, die die Steigerung der Energieeffizienz in Industrie, Gewerbe und Handel unterstützen sollen.

Table 4: Sample of policies and measures implemented in the industry sector

MeasuresDescriptionExpected savings, impact evaluationMore information available
Bundesförderung für Energieeffizienz in der Wirtschaft - Zuschuss und KreditNeuorganisation bisheriger Förderprogramme und Verbesserung der Förderbedingungen. Förderung von Querschnittstechnologien, Prozesswärme aus erneuerbaren Energien, Energiemanagement-Softwäre u.ä.2030: 92 PJ (Nettowirkung ohne Interaktionseffekte) / 87,4 PJ (Nettowirkung mit Interaktionseffekten)Link
Initiative Energieeffizienz-NetzwerkeZiel ist die Initiierung von 500 neuen Netzwerken zur Steigerung der Energieeffizienz in Industrie, Handwerk, Handel und Gewerbe.2020: 15,8 PJ 2030: 54,3 PJLink
Source: MURE

Overview

Germany's total final energy consumption of 2018 was slightly below its 2000 level (-9.2 Mtoe, i.e. -4%). In 2018, the largest consuming sector is industry, representing 29.4% of total final energy consumption. The share of residential has slightly decreased from 30.0% to 28.7% in 2018, while industry increased its share from 26.4% to 26.9%. The share of transport in total consumption decreased slightly from 27.2% to 26.9% (see Figure 1).

Figure 1: Final energy consumption by sector (normal climate)

Source: ODYSSEE

Energy efficiency for final consumers, as measured by the so-called technical ODEX, has improved by around 1.4% per year since 2000. Larger gains have been registered for households (2.2%/year), against 1.0%/year for transport and 1.6%/year for the services sector. A lower annual rate of improvements has been achieved in the industry sector (0.77%/year).

Figure 2: Technical Energy Efficiency Index

Source: ODYSSEE

With the Energy Concept from 2010, Germany set indicative energy and Climate Targets for 2020 and 2050. In order to achieve the 2020 targets, the "Climate Action Programme 2020" was adopted in 2014. The long-term strategy to achieve a climate neutral Germany in 2050 was set in 2016 with the "Climate Action Plan 2050". The plan also included sectoral GHG targets for 2030. With the "Climate Action Programme 2030" from October 2019, a broad package of measures to achieve these targets was decided, comprising innovations, funding, regulation, and a new pricing system for greenhouse gases starting in 2021. With the "Federal Climate Change Act" from December 12, 2019, the sectoral 2030 targets have been made legally binding. The "Energy Efficiency Strategy 2050" was also adopted in December 2019. It defines a new energy efficiency target for 2030 (reduction of 30% in primary energy consumption by 2030 compared to 2008) and thereby contributes to the new EU target for 2030, bundles the necessary measures in a new "National Action Plan for Energy Efficiency" (NAPE 2.0) and contains a dialogue process "Roadmap Energy Efficiency 2050", which started in May 2020. On June 10, 2020, the “National Hydrogen Strategy” was adopted.

Table 1: Sample of cross-cutting measures

MeasuresNEEAP measuresDescriptionExpected savings, impact evaluationMore information available
CO2 pricing for the transport and heating sectorsyesNew CO2 pricing for fossil fuels in the transport and heating sectors (without parts of industry already covered by EU ETS) starting from 2021 with a yearly increasing CO2 price until 2025 and an emission trading system with a cap from 2026 2030: 145.5 PJ (without measure interaction effect) / 138.2 PJ (with measure interaction effect) Link
Climate Action Programme 2020yesProgram containing several components to push the achievement of the 2020 climate target2020: 43 – 56 Mt CO2eq.Link
Source: MURE

Buildings

As shown in Figure 3 the household energy consumption per m² for space heating has decreased by 34% since 2000, from 17.4 koe/m² to 11.5 koe/m² in 2018. While the consumption per dwelling for water heating increased by 41% from 2000 to 2018 (from 0.19 toe/dw to 0.27 toe/dw), while the consumption for appliances and cooking stayed almost constant (see Figure 4).

Figure 3: Energy consumption of space heating per m2 (normal climate)

Source: ODYSSEE

Figure 4: Energy consumption per dwelling by end-use (except space heating)

Source: ODYSSEE

Figure 5 shows a decomposition of the change in energy consumption. It shows that the total final energy consumption of households decreased by around 6 Mtoe between 2000 and 2018. Two main factors contributed to an increase in energy consumption – more dwellings (6 Mtoe) and lifestyle/comfort (8 Mtoe, due to larger homes and more appliances per dwelling). On the opposite, energy savings decreased the consumption by around 25 Mtoe, while climate effects had only a small decreasing impact of 1 Mtoe.

Figure 5: Main drivers of the energy consumption variation of households

Source: ODYSSEE

Figure 6 shows the development of the specific energy consumption in households for both electricity and total final consumption. While the electricity consumption per squaremeter has been steadily increasing over time (by about 10% from 2001 to 2018), the total consumption dropped significantly in the same period (about 20% compared to 2001).

Figure 6: Energy and electricity consumption per m² (normal climate)

Source: ODYSSEE

To achieve the target of a virtually climate-neutral building stock in Germany by 2050, a set of programmes was established, of which some have already been in place for many years. As decided in the Climate Action Programme 2030, the funding conditions for these programmes are improved and combined in a new "Federal funding for efficient buildings (BEG)" starting in 2020. It consists of several modules which come from the former funding programmes: (1) BEG Residential Buildings (former KfW programme for energy-efficient construction and renovation) (2) BEG Non-residential Buildings (former KfW programme for energy-efficient refurbishment of non-residential buildings) (3) BEG Individual Measures BAFA (former KfW Market incentive programme for renewable energies incl. APEE). As an alternative to the Federal funding, tax incentives for the energy-efficient renovation of residential buildings were also introduced from 2020. The Corona stimulus package of June 3, 2020 also included an increased funding for building refurbishment. The new “Buildings Energy Act (GEG)” came into force on November 1, 2020, bringing together the previous Energy Savings Regulation (EnEV) and the Renewable Energy Heat Act (EEWärmeG). The GEG regulates the energy requirements for new and existing buildings and for the use of renewable energies in buildings.

Table 2: Sample of policies and measures implemented in the building sector

MeasuresDescriptionExpected savings, impact evaluationMore information available
Federal funding for efficient buildings (BEG)New funding program for existing building merging previous programs and improved funding conditions.2030: 79.3 PJ (net impact without measure interaction effect) / 55.5 PJ (net impact and also taking into account measure interaction)Link
Tax incentives for energy-related building renovationsTax reduction for energy-related measures for buildings used for own residential purposes.2030: 24.3 PJ (net impact without measure interaction effect) / 23.1 PJ (net impact and also taking into account measure interaction)Link
Source: MURE

Transport

Final energy consumption in transport is dominated by cars covering 66% of total consumption in 2018. The share of road freight stayed almost constant (26%), while rail transport dropped from 3.6% to 2.3%. In the same period the share of domestic air traffic, busses and water stayed almost constant.

Figure 7: Transport energy consumption by mode

Source: ODYSSEE

Cars represented 84.1% of passenger traffic measured in passenger kilometers in 2018, followed by rail with 10.3% and only 5.5% for bus. The share of cars stayed constant in comparison to 2000, while the share of rail slightly increased by 1.4 % points and bus traffic dropped by 1.3% points.

Figure 8: Modal split of inland passenger traffic

Source: ODYSSEE

Road freight transport represents 73.5% of total freight traffic in 2018, 3.6% points more than in 2000. The share of rail transport in freight increased strongly by 2.9% points, while the share of water traffic decreased by 6.5% points to 7% of total freight transport activity.

Figure 9: Modal split of inland freight traffic

Source: ODYSSEE

Figure 10 shows the different factors influencing the change in final energy consumption of transport. Germany's total final energy consumption for transport decreased by about 3.4 Mtoe in the period from 2000 to 2018. The increasing traffic of passengers and freight contributed to increase the consumption by 9 Mtoe (activity). This trend was counterbalanced by energy savings (10.6 Mtoe). Modal shift had a slightly increasing effect of 0.6 Mtoe, while other effects resulted in a decrease of about 2 Mtoe.

Figure 10: Main drivers of the energy consumption variation in transport

Source: ODYSSEE

The Climate Action Programme 2030 includes bundles of measures addressing different fields of action in the transport sector: (1) public transport, bicycle and pedestrian traffic (2) alternative fuels (3) freight traffic (4) private vehicles (5) commercial vehicles (6) digitalisation. With regard to energy efficiency, especially the following measures are important: (a) Increase in the environmental bonus for the purchase of electric vehicles (b) Funding programme for the purchase of electric buses in local public transport (c) Promotion of energy-efficient and/or low-emission heavy goods vehicles in road haulage companies (d) Heavy goods vehicle toll charges with CO2 component (e) Reduction of value added tax for long-distance rail travel from 19% to 7% (f) Increase in the Aviation Tax (g) Electricity-based fuels.

Table 3: Sample of policies and measures implemented in the transport sector

MeasuresDescriptionExpected savings, impact evaluationMore information available
Funding for e-mobility by an environmental bonusFinancial support for the purchase of BEV and PHEV.2030: 8.8 PJ (net impact without measure interaction effect) / 8.4 PJ (net impact and also taking into account measure interaction)Link
Source: MURE

Industry

The total consumption of the industry sector increased from 59.3 Mtoe in 2000 to 62.1 Mtoe in 2018 (+5%). Consumption of chemical industry increased by 37 % in this time period, while the energy consumption of the steel producing sector decreased by 10%. Non-ferrous metals' energy consumption decreased by 5%.

Figure 11: Final energy consumption of industry by branch

Source: ODYSSEE

Specific consumption of steel, paper and cement production remained at the level of 2000 in 2018, with however some fluctuations, with an increase due to capacity effects during low utilization of production capacities (especially in an economic crisis such for cement in 2006).

Figure 12: Unit consumption of energy‐intensive products (toe/t)

Source: ODYSSEE

Figure 13 shows the factors influencing the changes in final energy consumption of the industrial sector. The increase of its energy consumption by about 3 Mtoe between 2000 and 2018 was mainly driven by change in industrial activity (15.6 Mtoe). This effect was counterbalanced by energy savings (-8.6 Mtoe) and structural changes towards less intensive branches, which increased their contribution in industrial value added (-6.6 Mtoe). Other effects had a relatively minor increasing impact on final energy consumption in industry.

Figure 13: Main drivers of the energy consumption variation in industry

Source: ODYSSEE

In 2019, the main funding programmes to improve energy efficiency in companies were improved and merged in two new programmes: (1) Federal Funding for Energy Efficiency in Companies – Subsidy and Credit, comprising 4 modules which take up previous funding programmes (2) Federal Funding for Energy Efficiency in Companies – Funding Competition. In September 2020 the continuation of the Energy Efficiency Networks Initiative and its further development to Efficiency and Climate Networks was agreed between the Federal Government and Industry Associations.

Table 4: Sample of policies and measures implemented in the industry sector

MeasuresDescriptionExpected savings, impact evaluationMore information available
Federal Funding for Energy Efficiency in Companies – Subsidy and CreditFunding of cross-cutting technologies, process heat from renewable energies, control technologies, EMS etc.2030: 92 PJ (net impact without measure interaction effect) / 87.4 PJ (net impact incl. measure interaction effect)Link
Energy Efficiency Networks Initiative Introduction of 500 energy efficiency networks in industry, trade and commerce2020: 15.8 PJ 2030: 54.3 PJLink
Source: MURE